Jewole Bejide: Revolutionizing the African Tourism Experience

Semicolon Africa
4 min readNov 30, 2022

--

Ajewole Bejide (Co-founder, Tour Bounty)

Africa’s startup ecosystem is growing, with Nigeria being one of its busiest spots. Hence, it is common for startups to spring up from time to time. However, it is noteworthy to observe a startup that is not fintech-inclined. Ajewole Bejide, Co-founder at Tour Bounty, talks about navigating tech as a local boy from Ipoti Ekiti, building a startup focused on tourism, and more.

Q: Tell us about yourself.

My name is Ajewole Bejide. Before finding my way to tech, I studied Mass Communication and had brief career stops in the banking and telecoms industry. I am that local boy from Ipoti Ekiti, passionate about telling stories of people and places. I believe I can do this faster and more effectively with tech.

Q: As a Semicolon Alumnus (cohort 2), what was the techpreneurship program like?

Before Semicolon Africa, python was only a snake, and database was just a fancy word. Java was what I saw on my phone years back. They were just big and fancy words then. Going through the Semicolon one-year techpreneurship program helped me unlearn, learn, and relearn many things. Design thinking helped shape my mindset. I only used to see problems before, but now I see opportunities thanks to the mindset change via the Semicolon journey. Semicolon Africa is a fusion of tech training garnished with entrepreneur training, taught in a challenging and conducive atmosphere. I am grateful for the best tutors who took the time to break down complex terms and words.

Q: Did you go the 9–5 route after your graduation before entrepreneurship?

Yes.

Q: Why did you leave the safety of 9–5?

I had a one-man business before joining Semicolon. I used to hear that the future is tech from friends who were in tech. Then, sitting down and hearing Sam Immanuel speak, I knew I had to close shop and jump on this ship. I have not regretted doing that.

Q: Why entrepreneurship and not a 9–5?

My former boss told me some years back, “You will never be wealthy working for someone because you are helping that person chase his dreams.” After helping people chase their dreams, I feel it is time to pursue mine and get quality people to chase the dream together. I am glad I have a team that believes in what we do.

Q: So, Tour Bounty. What was the inspiration behind your startup?

Storytelling has been a thing for me. I love telling stories. However, my initial startup idea was related to fintech because of my banking experience. But the idea changed after speaking to Kunle Adefokun, my co-founder. We talked about our ideas, and I was blown away by his. That’s how we started building Tour Bounty.

Q: How has the startup journey been so far…

Before starting Tour Bounty, I have always imagined the co-founder title as a cool tag. I felt building a company was easy. I was wrong! Instead, it has been a journey filled with ups and downs — the constant decisions, sacrifices, and the learning never stops. It has not been easy, but the determination and vision of Tour Bounty have been the driving force.

Q: How has having a co-founder helped your startup journey?

Aaah! It has helped a great deal! Building a startup is tough and lonely. People need to know this more. So, building with someone who gets it and understands the vision is essential. Kunle is a dogged fighter, a goal-getter, versatile, and resourceful person. If I have to choose another lifetime, it will still be him.

Q: How has Semicolon Ventures helped you as an early-stage founder?

Asides from helping us close a pre-seed fund, they have given us all the tools and resources to excel from the Nexus program of the Innovation for African Universities (IAU) sponsored by the British Council and delivered by Lagos Business School & Henley business school, to the Pitch Days, Demo Days and vast network they have exposed us to. We have in Semicolon Ventures a dependable partner committed to seeing that we have an MVP and ensuring it is structured for profitability.

Q: What do you think is the future of tourism in Nigeria and Africa?

The problem with Nigeria and Africa is not a lack of tourist sites; it is not a lack of culture, tradition, or history; it is the fact that we have little or nobody willing to show and talk about them. You don’t expect people to tour places they don’t know or have never heard of. But by constantly showing the beautiful green land in Ekiti, the breathtaking mountains in Calabar, the festivals in Bauchi, and the rich culture in Edo, Osun, and Sokoto, we create in the global audience an appetite to consume even more. In the same way, we are recording international success in music, we can create the same with tourism and endear the hearts of the world, so they can come and explore Nigeria and Africa.

Q: Advice for early-stage founders?

Though some situations and circumstances might want to demoralize or derail you, keep at it, keep building, and keep iterating, the world needs your innovation.

--

--

Semicolon Africa

Semicolon is bridging the gap in Africa's tech talent and empowering businesses to succeed. Follow us for insights & stories as we shape Africa's tech ecosytem.